Responsive image

Mr and Miss Curro Heuwelkruin finalists collect food for Meals on Wheels

The school consists of three houses namely Triton, Phobos and Deimos with four finalists from each house. The learners then have to take part in community projects as a house as well as a combined project where all 12 participate.

One of these combined projects is the Meals on Wheels project. Leading up to the crowning of Mr and Miss Heuwelkruin, the finalists took to the streets to collect food for Meals on Wheels. They do this by camping outside Thornhill Spar where they try, and usually succeed, to encourage shoppers to buy some items for the organisation.

The learners braced the cold in an attempt to collect the most food items at the end of the evening. This included cooking oil, onions, maize meal, soup packets, cabbage, rice, potatoes, carrots and salt. This then is all loaded onto the Meals on Wheels bakkie to be used as needed.

Fantastic Four, Wilmerie Pretorius


Part of the fun is the different themes for the teams. The themes included: The Fantastic Four, Kruinie Clowns and The Friendly Fairies.

One of the Kruinie Clowns, CJ Smith


Thornhill Spar also donated money to the cause.

The finalists are Faith Kgoale, Kega Mohlala, Kwena Mokgohloa, Patricia Manyowa, Queen Mapheto. Ramon Tamayo, CJ Smith, Atang Phooko, Miguel Pereira, Dale Ewart, Wilmerie Pretorius and Kagiso Malebana.