For more information on the COVID-19 Pandemic in South Africa, click here

Share this school:

Cambridge Assessment International Education

Cooper College has been awarded Cambridge international school status by Cambridge Assessment International Education. We design all curriculum and assessments with the Cambridge learner’s attributes in mind.

Cambridge programmes and qualifications set the global standard for international education. They are created by subject experts and reflect the latest educational research.


Why should I consider a Cambridge education for my child?


  • The overarching focus is on developing learners to be ready for education, university and the adult world.
  • Offering a wide array of subjects, the emphasis is on in-depth subject knowledge combined with developing skills that make study and work easier in future.
  • Learners develop advanced writing skills and have a high reading load.
  • Learners are challenged to think for themselves, using their curiosity, creativity and collaboration skills.
  • Cambridge encourages learners to develop higher order thinking and comprehension skills that will last a lifetime:
  • Problem-solving and critical thinking
  • Independent research
  • Innovation
  • Collaboration
  • Engaging socially and intellectually
  • Because of this, self-discipline, responsibility and time-management skills are second nature.


What is the approach of the Cambridge pathway?

Cambridge helps learners discover their individual abilities, broaden their horizons, and gives them the skills they need for life, so they can excel at school, university and work.


How does it work?

The Cambridge pathway has four stages that lead seamlessly from primary to secondary and pre-university years. Each stage builds on the learners’ development from the previous one and offers a wide range of subjects with an emphasis on English, Mathematics and Science:

  1. Cambridge Primary (5 to 11 years old)
  2. Cambridge Lower Secondary (11 to 14 years old)
  3. Cambridge Upper Secondary or the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) – IGCSE Core or IGCSE Extended (14 to 16 years old)
  4. Cambridge Advanced AS and A levels (16 to 19 years old)

You can read more on choosing the Cambridge pathway, the difference between a Cambridge International Examinations (CIE) qualification and a National Senior Certificate (NSC) or IEB (Independent Examinations Board) matric qualification as well as the benefits for your child by clicking here.


For more information on Cambridge Assessment International Education, Cambridge IGCSE or AS and A Levels, download the specific fact sheets and handy infographic below. Alternatively, visit the Cambridge webpage.

Download buttons:


Apply Now
Switch to our data free website, click here