For more information on the COVID-19 Pandemic in South Africa, click here

Board of directors

SL (Santie) Botha
Independent non-executive chairperson - BEcon; BEcon (Hons)

Santie currently serves as non-executive director on the boards of Liberty Holdings Ltd and Telkom Ltd. She is also the chairperson of Famous Brands Ltd. Santie has a wide range of knowledge and experience in different sectors, ranging from fast-moving consumer goods (FMCG), where she started her career in Unilever and worked in various roles in both Durban and London, UK (1987 to 1996), and banking (Executive Director: ABSA Bank, 1996 to 2003) to telecommunications (Executive Director: MTN, 2003 to 2010). Santie was named Business Woman of the Year 2010. She was the Chancellor of Nelson Mandela University from 2011 to 2017.

AJF (Andries) Greyling
Chief Executive Officer - CA(SA)

Andries has been Curro’s CEO since 1 July 2017. He started his career as audit manager at KPMG Inc. and subsequently held financial positions at several companies. In 2000, he joined the International Colleges Group of Media24 Ltd, which included brands such as INTEC and Damelin, as financial director, and was subsequently promoted to financial director of Educor (Pty) Ltd (Educor). In 2006, Educor bought a 26% stake in Curro. Andries, together with Curro founder Dr Chris van der Merwe, created the business plan upon which Curro’s current growth strategy is based. In 2007, when Naspers Ltd disposed of Educor, including its interest in Curro, Andries acquired a shareholding in Curro and joined the company as financial director. In 2011, when Bernardt van der Linde was appointed as the financial director of Curro, Andries’s role changed to that of chief operating officer. He was appointed CEO in 2017.

ZL (KK) Combi
Independent non-executive director - Diploma in Public Relations; member of the Institute of Directors in Southern Africa

KK serves as an independent non-executive director of various listed and unlisted companies. He is the chairperson of the PSG Group Ltd, and is the chairperson of Pioneer Food Group Ltd. He has broad knowledge and experience of business in different industries and has been active as an entrepreneur since 1995.

ZN (Nan) Mankai
Independent non-executive director – CA(SA); MBA

Nan was appointed as an independent non-executive director to the Curro board with effect from 10 August 2018. Nan is currently the principal investment officer of Bigen Africa Services (Pty) Ltd, where she has until recently served on the audit committee and as chairperson of the social and ethics committee. Nan’s experience has been in the private equity and investment management space, having worked for private equity funds as well as building on-balance sheet portfolios for corporates.

T (Tsholo) Molefe
Independent non-executive director – CTA; CA(SA)

Tsholo was appointed as an independent non-executive director to the Curro board with effect from 1 May 2019. In July 2018, Tsholo was appointed as the group chief financial officer for Telkom SA SOC Ltd, where she had served as deputy group CFO since July 2016. Tsholo is a business professional with a solid understanding of the corporate world, as well as of financial strategy management, financial management practices, controls, and reporting requirements pertaining to various industries.

PJ (Piet) Mouton
Non-executive director - BCom (Mathematics)

Piet is the CEO of PSG Group Ltd and serves as a non-executive director on the boards of various of its investee companies, including Capitec Bank Ltd, Pioneer Food Group Ltd, PSG Konsult Ltd and Zeder Investments Ltd. He has served within the investment and financial services industries since 1999.

Prof. SWF (Sibongile) Muthwa
Independent non-executive director - BA (SW) (Fort Hare); BA (SW) Hons (Wits); MSc (SPPDC); PhD (London))

Sibongile has international business experience in the non-government, development and public sectors, as well as in academia. Currently she is the Vice Chancellor of the Nelson Mandela University. Sibongile serves as a non-executive director of the University Sports Company (Pty) Ltd and is a commissioner of the Financial and Fiscal Commission. Between 2004 and 2010 Sibongile served as the director general of the Eastern Cape Provincial Government.

DM (Douglas) Ramaphosa
Independent non-executive director - MA (Social Sciences); Programme for Executive Development (Institute of Management Development)

Douglas has more than 25 years of business experience through various directorships and board memberships. He is a non-executive director of EnviroServe, a waste-management company, as well as of the Wildlife and Environment Society of South Africa, and is chairperson of Satori Tech Hub. Douglas has served as group executive of corporate affairs at Altron, was CEO of Bytes Healthcare Solutions and, prior to that, managing director of Bytes Specialised Solutions. He worked at senior executive level for a number of organisations, including Transnet, ABSA and Anglo American. He served on the board of Eskom Enterprises for five years and was director and chairperson of Rotek Industries.

Dr CR (Chris) van der Merwe
Non-executive director - BPrim (Ed); MEd (cum laude); PhD in Education

Chris has extensive knowledge of and is highly experienced in the independent school sector. He founded Curro in 1998, and as chief executive officer he led the company to its listing on the JSE in 2011. As a result of his founding of Curro, Chris was one of the four finalists in the exceptional category of the EY World Entrepreneur Competition in 2013. In October 2017 Chris was named Business Leader of the Year by the Durbanville Chamber of Commerce. Chris is CEO of Stadio Holdings, the tertiary-education component of the Curro business that was unbundled from Curro and was separately listed on the JSE on 3 October 2017.

Switch to our data free website, click here